Posted by: John Ferringer | August 17, 2011

Presentation: SharePoint 2010 Development Best Practices – SPUFW 8-17-2011


This morning I was lucky enough to be invited to speak to the SharePoint Users of Fort Wayne (Indiana) on the topic of SharePoint 2010 Development Best Practices, and I just wanted to get a quick post up to link to the slide deck I used for the talk, as well as provide some links to the critical resource I mentioned in the presentation. Also, I’d really like to thank Scott Hamman, Jon Fazzaro, and Aptera Software for extending me the invitation to present to their outstanding group and the great discussions we had before, during, and after the presentation. I always love getting to see digital acquaintances out in the “meatspace”, and today was great because it was a fun challenge for me to cover a topic that isn’t a skill set I use on a regular basis. But enough with my rambling, on to the links!

I’ve posted my slide deck online at SlideShare.net if for you to review at your leisure: http://www.slideshare.net/ferringer/sharepoint-2010-development-best-practices-spufw-8172011. If you have any questions about it or want more information, please just post a comment on this post and I’ll do my best to respond.

I also reference several tools and resources throughout the presentation that I wanted to make sure I provided to everyone, so here they are:

UPDATE: I’ve gotten some good follow up info from Stuart Pegg, so I wanted to go ahead and get it added to the post:

  • A helpful development tool on CodePlex: SharePoint Manager http://spm.codeplex.com/
  • And another: Stramit CAML Viewer http://spcamlviewer.codeplex.com/ (as Eric Alexander pointed out, this tool is great for looking for the CAML behind an existing item, while the U2U tool is best suited for building a new CAML query.
  • Finally, if you’re a user of the Chrome browser, there are developer tools built right into it very similar to what Firebug and the IE Developer Toolbar provide, so it can provide you another option for debugging CSS and JavaScript from the client perspective.

Again, thanks to everyone who came out this morning, I had a great time and hope you did as well.

John

Responses

  1. […] Ferringer recently spoke at the Fort Wayne SPUG meeting discussing topics in best practices for SharePoint development. During the course of his […]


Leave a Reply

Categories

